Peace

About two years ago when I was going through a major family crisis I found this scripture and tape it next to my computer.

Philippians 4:6-7 “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything; tell God your needs and don’t forget to thank him for his answers. If you do this you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand.”

I don’t know what version of the bible this comes from, but I have looked it up in the (NIV) and I believe it says basically the same thing.  A few times I almost taken the scripture from my wall, but I always remember that I tend to forget about God telling us not to worry that he has our backs just like a best friend would, but more. It seems to me that God is telling us, “Talk to me. Tell me your troubles and what you need. I will listen. Then, thank me when I give you your answers,” which shows we are grateful to him for his answers. Finally, he says he will give us peace of mind. I don’t know about you, but I’ve experience God peace more than once in my life and it is pretty wonderful.

Recently when I started studying the bible it seems God wanted to remind me again about his peace.  I run into this scripture:

John 14:27 (NIV) Peace I leave with you, my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be trouble and do not be afraid.

Both of these scripture are now written in the front of my journal which I carry most places with me. I like to remind myself that God can grant me peace if I just ask and let him.

Leave a Reply

