I’m Learning

I didn’t think I was going to write this week. I was feeling a bit down in the dumps about something and I’m waiting on answer from God, when God decided to cheer me up with the help of my niece who going to a kick out of this story.

This past summer my niece stay with us while I was recovering from surgery and she was waiting for the fall term to begin. She and I would talk about religion or debate religious issues. Mind you she is a faithful Christian and I wasn’t at that time. One of the topics we debate was speaking in tongues. She told me she believes in speaking in tongues and I argued zealously against it. Today, I message my niece to see what she decided to do for the summer.  She told me she going home to CO. Then, she asks “How is your journey going?” I responded: I have my good days and bad days. But following God is the goal. He didn’t promises roses every day. Sometimes there has to be pain to grow in faith. I do love reading the bible and going to church. The people there are great. I think I could even believe in speaking in tongues if that is what God wants me to. Hope you plan on visiting some before you start the Fall term. Her reply: I will. I am very happy for you. Is it okay if I call you tomorrow since I have not talked to you in a while? Me: Sure.

This evening, I get guided back to my father folder to add a name to the pled, so when it gets pass down that person will be remember too. I glance at the bible notes and see speaking in tongues in them and 1 Corinthians 14 mention along with them. I have learned that the best place to find answers is the bible and not what other people say. Doesn’t mean I don’t ask for help from people I trust like my pastor and other church members.

I find my answer not only in 1 Co: 14 Gifts of Prophecy and Tongues, but also in 1 Co: 12:1-11 Spiritual Gifts, and 1 Co: 13 Love. I’m not saying what I discover or think about speaking in tongues now; I might change my mind if I get a different prospect from the bible later. Look it up for yourself that’s what the bible for. Oh, I plan on telling my niece what I think, because I own her apologize…….

Take what you need, leave the rest, peace and love to all.

P. S. God knows how to kick you in your pants when you need it. Now, I’m smiling.

Leave a Reply

