“Hold Your Head up Daughter”

2 Corinthians 3:17 “Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is there is freedom.”

Being a “young” Christian I’m still learning a lot of new things. I wrote this story last month. This is the day I discover the true meaning of salvation.

As I go walking I hang my head with thoughts of humility. I hear His voice saying to me, “Hold your head up daughter and walk in pride for me. I kick your butt into humility. Now learn to walk with pride within me.” I hold my head up and walk taller than before taking steps in pride for God. But my mind isn’t settled just yet. I bow my head again and He says, “Hold your head up daughter. I forgave you for your sins. I heard your prayers asking for help to hold your tongue and keyboard and the pride you carry within. Now, hold your head up and walk with pride for Me.” Head held high and a smile on my face…. “I love you Father.”

I get to my place to pray. I bow my head, but this time His voice is softer and full of grace. “Hold your head up daughter. Look around you; see the beauty that surrounds you, see the beauty inside you. Stop hiding who you are….” I say my prayer softly not caring who hears me looking at the hills, the river’s water, the plants, the trees, the birds singing, the people walking by…. my head held high with praise for my Father….

Don’t get me wrong there are times to bow your head, but there are also times to hold you head up high in Our Father. True story

“The proof of spiritual maturity is not how ‘pure’ you are, but awareness of your impurity. That very awareness opens the door to grace.” In “What’s So Amazing About Grace.” By Philip Yancey (p. 198)

PS God sometimes gives tough Love.

3 thoughts on ““Hold Your Head up Daughter”

Leave a Reply

