God’s Will, Not Our Will

Several weeks ago I attend a seminar at my church on “How to Pray.” There were a few things I learned that day that I was skeptical about. As a child I was taught prayers needed to come from the heart. I still believe that too, but that day I learn that we should pray with an open bible and that its God will to be done, not our will. Matthew 6:10 “Your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it in heaven.” Frist, I tried praying with an open bible. The prayer seem empty. I tried again, but this time I chose scriptures that meant something to me with the purpose to help heal someone. I pour my heart into the prayer. It was the most powerful prayer I have ever said and it was answered.

Then, I started praying for God’s will. That I would serve Him anyway He saw fit for me to serve Him in my home, in my church, in my community, in my nation. He helps me; now I’m willing to help Him. I didn’t get an answer right away like the first time. It took some work on my part. I had to let go of my pride. I had to use my gift for Him. I had to put myself out on a limb. Then, I had to let go and let God work. It started with a facebook post, then at church and my community. Yesterday, I saw it happen in my nation. Today, I added to serve Him in the world in my prayer. I was answer. I’m not moving mountains, but I’m using the gift God gave me to help others. I’m planting atom size seeds. I have faith God will make use of them.

Never doubt. He hears our prayers.

1 John 5:14 “This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.”

Take what you need, leave the rest. Peace and Love

Leave a Reply

