Being Afraid of God

Let’s face it, God can seem scary and mean, especially if you are reading the Old Testament in the Bible. Many people including children are afraid of God. It’s not because they don’t believe in God, it’s because they do believe in God.  God who flooded the world (Noah’s Ark), God who rain down fire and brimstone upon the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah, God who asked Abraham to sacrifice his only son Isaac, God who has deemed all who commit sin to hell. Who wouldn’t be afraid of God if this is all they understand about God. Some churches try to scare people into getting saved by the “Fire and Brimstone” sermons. They end up turning people away from God. Then, people seek other beliefs and religions. Ones that don’t involve being afraid.

Once upon a time, I was one of these people scared out of my pants of God. I seek other beliefs and ideas about life and death that involve not being afraid all the time. I tried reading the Bible; it didn’t work. I got more scared. I gave up on God. Then one day maybe several days, I not sure what happen, I discover that God was still with me. Just because I gave up on Him, He didn’t give up on me. I wasn’t baptized and saved. I would say I went around like this for several years believing in another religion and in God /Jesus. I was still holding back not ready to give myself completely over to God due to fear.

You see, I missed something about God that I wasn’t taught and for some reason I didn’t find in the Bible or maybe my fear outweigh the message. Maybe I just wasn’t ready yet….

I discover God/Jesus’s unconditional love for me. God’s love, that sent His only begotten Son into the world so that we might live through Him. Jesus’s love, who didn’t have too, learn what it was like to be a child, to be hungry, to be sad, to be hated, to love people, to have lost, to be tempted, to be beaten, to be KILLED, ……to be Human.  Jesus/God, who didn’t have too, stayed nail to the cross because HE LOVE US and we can now be forgiven for our sins.

So what happen to me? I stop fearing God and started loving God,… completely with all my heart. The kind of love that I can’t describe because He LOVES ME, the kind of love that brings me to tears, the kind of love I want every moment of the day, the kind love that carries me, the kind of love that brings me to my knees and says “Yes, Lord I’m Yours and You are Mine.”

Did I learn to fear God again? Yes, but now it’s a loving fear. Do I still believe in the other religion? No Way

By the way, I did get Baptize and Saved on Easter Sunday this year.

Songs of Praise: Isaiah 12:2
“Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord, is my strength and my song; He has become my salvation.”

Take what you need, leave the rest. Peace and Love.

Leave a Reply

