What Are You Reading?

Several times the past week different versions/translations  of the Bible have been brought to my attention. It got me curious, so I typed the words “in what language was the first bible written” on the internet, which led to more research. Here are some facts most people don’t know about the bible according to some web sites.

  1. The Old Testament was most written in Hebrew with some of Ezra and Daniel being Aramaic.
  1. Most Jews didn’t speak Hebrew by the time The New Testament written, so it was mostly written in Koine Greek (common dialect Greek). Greek scholars Plato and Aristotle ridiculed the uses of common Greek for the New Testament.                      http://www.biblica.com/en-us/bible/bible-faqs/in-what-language-was-the-bible-first-written/
  1. In third-century B.C.E. Alexander the Great wanted his Jewish subjects to have access to their own holy books. Greek had become the language of the eastern Mediterranean, and Egypt. Those who identified themselves as Jewish could no longer read their own Scriptures. Seventy of Alexander best scholars carefully translated the Hebrew texts to Greek. http://www.bibleodyssey.org/en/tools/bible-basics/what-was-the-original-language-of-the-bible.aspx
  1. The first translation of the English Bible was initiated by John Wycliffe and completed by John Purvey in 1388.                 http://www.bibleinfo.com/en/questions/what-was-original-language
  1. The first edition of King James Bible appeared in 1611. James wanted a popular translation. He insisted that the translation use old familiar terms and names and be readable in the idiom of the day. http://www.christianity.com/church/church-history/timeline/1601-1700/story-behind-king-james-bible-11630052.html
  1. The first American edition of the Bible was probably published some time before 1752.
  1. The earliest copies of parts of the Hebrew Old Testament were discovered in 1947. They are part of the famous Dead Sea Scrolls and actually date back to the first century BC. Even though they are at least 900 years older than any parts of the Bible we had before this, they are not the originals. http://www.biblica.com/en-us/bible/bible-faqs/in-what-language-was-the-bible-first-written/
  1. There are over 50 versions of the English bible translations. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_English_Bible_translations
  1. As of November 2014 the full Bible has been translated into 531 languages and 2,883 languages have at least some portion of the Bible. wikipedia.org/wiki/Bible_translations

So, does it matter what version the Bible you are reading? It does to me. I can’t read Hebrew, Aramaic, or Koine Greek the original languages of the Bible. I don’t understand any other language then English. Words have change their meanings over time, so I don’t understand the older English translations of the Bible.

So what do I do? I pray before reading and studying my Bible, so I can understand and learn God’s Word.

Note: I copy and paste most material from sites.

One thought on “What Are You Reading?

  1. When I was a new Christian the Good news Translation was my bible, I was 13 and it had an easy to understand translation. Then as I grew up physically and spiritually I moved to the NIV and stuck there for over 30 years, I just this summer bought a new translation, The Voice, and I love it. There are verses I know in the KJV because they were repeated so often by older Christians but I have never had the urge to read that translation.

    I do like to compare different translations when I am studying or writing or struggling to understand a verse or passage.

    I also pray before I start to read that God will open His word to me, will reveal His truth and teach me. He always has 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

