“Jack a Friend I Almost Knew”

“Jack a Friend I Almost Knew”

I met you at the end
knowing there would be little time for you friend
I saw how beautiful you were
Within your words I heard
Your heart spoke to mine

What surprise me is you saw
my heart within such a short time
How did you know my beauty within?
Surely it was a sign
Of friendship that would begin

My wondering mind visited you today
and held your hand
to say goodbye
Letting you know it was okay
that our time together would be delay

I would meet you again when
we will have all the time spend
I saw you with my mind
smiling the most beautiful grin
Telling me you are happy to begin
a new life within Heaven without the world’s sin

I will miss you until then

C. Taulbee-Johnson
November 1, 2015
Rewrote Nov. 2, 2015

Note: the world’s sin is “death” as in Genesis when Adam and Eve sin.

Leave a Reply

