Spiritual War

My Sunday school class is doing a study on a book by Chip Ingram “The Invisible War” about Satan, demons, and spiritual warfare. I know, scarily stuff. I’m not going to try to convince you that spiritual warfare is real because if you believe that the bible is 100% true, as Christians should, all you need to do is look in the bible.

What I want to talk about is Satan. There was a comment made today that we all should be aware of, “Just like God knows all about us, Satan knows all about us.” God knows every one of us; our hopes, our dreams, our strengths, and our weaknesses and so do the devil and his workers. They sit and watch us. They prey on our weaknesses. They take our hopes and dreams and use them against us. Sometimes they masquerade as righteous and everything else that isn’t Godly. Their soul purpose is to trip us up and led us away from God.

I’m not going to preach to you about right and wrong. That’s what the bible for. I’m going to tell you how I fight the devil. I pray every day sometimes several times a day. Matthew 6:13 “And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one” is almost always in my prayer in some way. I usually add protect me Father, because you know the evil one is after me and to give me strength to get through the day. When temptation pass through my mind and heart I rebuke the devil with these words, “Get out, get out in the name of Jesus and leave me be.” Google “rebuke the devil prayers” you’ll find I’m not the only one rebukes him.  There has been a time or two when the devil seems almost too strong for me. When this happens I go into full prayer mode asking God to protect me to send me help. I read the bible and ask for help and guidance every day. I remind myself this spiritual war has been won with Jesus dying on the cross. I try to keep my eyes on the ultimate goal of having eternal life with God.

The evil one is very tricky. He will try anything to lead us into a life without Jesus which is no life at all.

Ephesians 6:10-18 (NIV)

The Armor of God

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. 18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.

3 thoughts on “Spiritual War

  1. I agree completely that we should be on guard against temptation, that we should be totally focused on God and listening to Him, staying close to Him. However, the devil is not God. He is not even close to being like God – that was his sin, the reason he fell. He does not know all about us as God does. He is a created being and in no way omniscient like God. He certainly can’t read my thoughts although after thousands of years he can probably guess what they might be.

    We face temptation most often from our fallen sinful nature, from what our flesh wants not. With 6 billion people, there’s not much chance he’s actually tempting me as often as I get tempted. And if he is tempting me then he can’t be tempting you or anyone else. He doesn’t have limitless resources or followers and unlike God he is not omnipresent.

    Yes we are told to resist the devil and he will flee from us but more often we are told to crucify the flesh, to take up the cross and follow Jesus, to be transformed by the renewing of our minds.

    I don’t intend to sound like I disagree with you regarding spiritual warfare, but that warfare doesn’t always mean the devil or demons are standing next to me poking at me. We battle in the heavenlies against principalities and powers, we tear down arguments and pretensions that stand against God. We are moved from the kingdom of darkness to a kingdom of light and then we bring that light into the world wherever we are.

    So spiritual warfare is a vital part of our Christian life, a part I neglect too often but let’s not give the devil more power or ability than he has. He is not in any way equal to God. He is also defeated and we are empowered to stand against him. If we choose to take up that power.

    Like

    1. It’s okay if you disagree with me. It won’t upset me. I’m young in my faith and can and will admit I don’t know everything and never will. I do believe the devil knows more about us than we think he does, of course I don’t know any bible scriptures that says he does. I agree with you that the devil isn’t as powerful as God, but he was created by God with supernatural powers. Unless it’s in the bible, it’s any ones guess what the devil can and can’t do. I also agree with you not everything that happens is the devil fault. We must take responsible for our decisions, exercise self-control, and resist temptation.
      We just started our study; it will be interesting what views I will have after the study. Thanks for the input.

      Like

Leave a Reply

