Guarding Your Heart

Proverbs 4:23 “Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flow the springs of life.” New American Standard Bible

There are people in my life that cause me to fight for my beliefs and stand firm in God. They question my salvation and/or cause me grieve in my heart with their words and/or actions. Also, there are times in my life when I go through spiritual growth and I have struggles with my faith. These are the times when I turn to God for help. God has never failed me. He gives me answers either through the bible, through prayer, and/or He puts someone in my path to help me through it.

Recently, I realize how much God keeps giving me through other people. People who protect my heart, who build me up when I’m being push down. They help me through my struggles and encourage me while I explore my treasures. I remember reading something in a book my pastor talked about several months ago that stuck out to me:  9 Things a Leader Must Do (page 27)

“Ask God to help you find your heart, mind, soul, and the treasures He has placed there for you.”

“….find a community of people who are committed to guarding your heart.”

I have found that community. They are my church. I love them greatly and appreciate everything they do for me.

1 Thessalonians 5:11 “Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.” (NIV)

Take what you need and leave the rest. May God bless you with a community too.

 

One thought on “Guarding Your Heart

  1. I love that quote – “….find a community of people who are committed to guarding your heart.” It’s something God spoke to me about this year and I am with you, they are my church.
    God is so good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

