Loving God

The last few days I keep reading Psalm 63:1-8 and my heart swells with love for God. How I feel about God’s love is so hard to explain, but Psalm 63 gets pretty close.
A psalm of David. When he was in the Desert of Judah.

1 You, God, are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
I thirst for you,
my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
where there is no water.

Notice that David put a claim on God as being his God by saying “my God.” I know God doesn’t just belong to me, but I get to claim God as mine. I look up synonyms for “claim” and got this: right, entitlement, privilege. When I got saved it made me a child of God and now I have a right to God’s love as His child and creation. He also entitles me to His love and it’s most definably a privilege to be love and to love God. I thirst for God every day and I belong to him and no one else has a claim to me.

Next few verses have a special meaning for me too.

2 I have seen you in the sanctuary
and beheld your power and your glory.
3 Because your love is better than life,
my lips will glorify you.
4 I will praise you as long as I live,
and in your name I will lift up my hands.
5 I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;
with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

I don’t know how many times I have felt God’s love while I’m with my church. A friend touched me last week while we were singing and praising God and she felt the Holy Spirit too. I sit here writing this feeling the Holy Spirit working through me, holding me, touching my heart, changing me for the better, and making my life beautiful. Why won’t I praise Him and lift up my hands to God and Jesus when they give me so much.

Okay, I’m going to finish now.

6 On my bed I remember you;
I think of you through the watches of the night.
7 Because you are my help,
I sing in the shadow of your wings.
8 I cling to you;
your right hand upholds me.

I think of God before going to sleep and the first thing when I wake in the mornings. He is my help and I’m in His wings. I hold onto God throughout the day as He upholds me. He is a good, good Father.

Listen to these two songs: Chris Tomlin – Good Good Father and Francesca Battistelli – Beautiful, Beautiful they get close to how I feel about God too.

I know I didn’t get close to explain how I feel about God, but I did try.

Peace and love. May you be bless with God’s love too.

Leave a Reply

