Psalm 84:10 or Prune Juice

I always enjoy volunteering at the nursing home and helping with the residents’ activities. Yesterday it was the Bible challenge. We play a DVD that asks questions about the Bible and try to answer them correctly. One of the questions was where would find this scripture? “Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.” I had read this last week sometime and wrote it down, so I knew it was from Psalm (84:10). I surprise some of the residents when I answer correctly. I usually get it wrong, but this scripture touch my heart. I thought it was beautiful how the Psalmist describe his desire to be with God.  He would rather be a lowly servant one day with God then live a thousand days with the wicked.  Isn’t that how we Christians should feel about God; a deep desire in our hearts to be with God. We should have an assurance in our hearts because of salvation we will someday dwell in His house not just for one day, but for eternity. I feel God’s love for me every moment of the day. Psalm-84

There is another scripture that comes to mind when think about this.

 

John 15:16-Jesus talking, “You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit–fruit that will last–and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you.”

Jesus/God choose me; just plain Cassie to be His.

It might interest you to read John 15:14-15 too.

By the way the activity director threatened to make me drink prune juice if I got a question wrong. That got a laugh from the residents and me.

 

One thought on “Psalm 84:10 or Prune Juice

Leave a Reply

