Still Believing in Easter

A friend of mine from the nursing home wrote this and with his permission I’m sharing it with you. Feel free to share it with whomever you like.

Done to the music of “The Old Rugged Cross”


Still Believing In Easter

Well, it’s time for Easter again. It’s a special time of the year, getting dressed up in your Sunday best for the Easter Sunday church service. Then there’s that famous bunny rabbit and egg hunts for children, too.

But I’m afraid that our world, our country, has made Easter too commercialized, like Christmas. The true meaning of Easter is the gospel, the death, burial, and resurrection of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. That’s what we who are Christians celebrate.

I wouldn’t dare try to tell somebody else that they couldn’t celebrate the holiday of their faith any way they might see fit. The last time I checked, this was still the Land of the Free. So that means that I’m free to celebrate Easter for what it means to me. So this year at Easter I’m going to send out “Easter” cards with Easter message to family and friends, military personnel, disabled veterans, and others.

Ok, call me “politically incorrect” if you want to. I’ve been called worse things than that in my life. But think about this. If more of the people in our country and our elected political leaders really had a personal relationship with the Lord Jesus Christ, then God would bless and help our country, the economy and all. We could really use it!

So, at this time, allow me to say, “Happy Easter!” Because, after all this time; in fact maybe now, even more than ever, “I am still believing in Easter”

by Freddie Stamm

 

2 thoughts on “Still Believing in Easter

Leave a Reply

