Letting Go

Life is so precious and a gift from God. Today, I attended the funeral of a 23 year old woman I knew in passing who was killed in a car accident. I was there with a friend who knew her. I watched as family, friends, and co-workers grieve for their lost. My heart reach out to them and a few tears were shed for them. I listen as the words to songs were played to recall memories of their pass love one to help them reach the place of letting go. The service was beautifully lead with the reading of Ecclesiastes 3 “A Time for Everything” I believe most of you know 3:1 There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under heaven: … I sit there remembering saying the same words for my brother-in-law a few weeks ago when he passed. I thought of God’s plan he has for each of us. A plan that can be short or long depending all on Him. I thought of some of the things God has asked me do. I thought about yesterday, which was a bad day for me with the realization of some things I’m going have to do, will not be easy, but I know it’s the path God has chosen for me. I asked questions of “WHY.” I got angry. I got sad. I got afraid. In my mind I started admitting to God things I’m afraid of. This morning when God woke me at 5:00 a.m. again to talk or I should say listen, I got a picture of Jonah in the belly of the big fish and the prayer he says. I remember the scripture I embedded on my heart several months ago. Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” I started trusting God the moment I accepted Jesus in my heart, but it doesn’t mean I’m not afraid. What I am is… strong and courageous with God within me and by my side. I can bravely do what God has asked of me. I know life isn’t easy. It was never intended to be easy. I know we will have burdens and sorrows. I know there will be days like yesterday when the tears come and we question God. I know there will be days like today for the love ones of the 23 year old woman trying to let go and began the healing. But for me there is a now where I can continual to let go of my will and put my faith and trust in God, taking one step at a time, letting Him lead me to where I need to go.
With love and peace.

Jeremiah 29:1 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Leave a Reply

