Mistakes

This week our church’s children Wednesday night class lesson was about pride and humility. They drew pictures of stick people with little sayings on each of them. One was “doesn’t like to admit to mistakes.” We all make mistakes. Lately, God seems to pointing out my pride to me and is changing the way I think about myself. Okay, I admit my pride has taken a hit…. several hits. As a young Christian I have made a lot of mistakes. At first I was very sensitive to my mistakes. I would say, do, and write the wrong things. I still do by the way. I would become upset if people pointed my mistakes out to me.  My loving Christian family would for the most part over look them. As I have grown in my faith and my self confidence I’m not so sensitive anymore. I can say to myself, “I’m human, I mess up, and I’m not going to beat myself up about it.” The world does that enough….thank you so much.

I’m not going to go into what God says about pride. One, because I’m not totally sure and two, I think all those pastors out their can do it much better and most likely get it right. I’m talking about whom I am now and ‘the me’ who is changing every day into a better person because I’m letting God change me. I want so very much to learn more about God and who/what he is. I want to be gently corrected when I make mistakes. Especially mistakes I make about God and His Word.

You see I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s okay to be wrong, but it’s not okay to stay wrong.

2 Corinthians 7:8-9

Even if I caused you sorrow by my letter, I do not regret it. Though I did regret it—I see that my letter hurt you, but only for a little while—yet now I am happy, not because you were made sorry, but because your sorrow led you to repentance. For you became sorrowful as God intended and so were not harmed in any way by us.

Leave a Reply

