“Servitude”

Sometimes it’s hard for me to visit the nursing home my heart goes out to them. Other times it’s a pleasure. The more you are there you notice things like they have their own little society. Residences help each other with activities and visit one another. This past week I’ve been out there to help with a banana split social. There is this one woman who is mostly depended on others to help. She and I were a little mischievous that day. I could see that she was enjoying herself in our mischievousness. There was a twinkle in her eye and a smile on her face. A thought pop into my head on how Jesus lower himself  to showed His servitude to His disciple by washing their feet at the Last Supper. Then, today it was bingo with the residences. One particular woman asked me to take her back to her room. As I wheeled her down the hall she says, “I like you.” I respond, “I like you too.” When we got to her room she says give me a hug. This is the same lady I help take shopping a few weeks ago and asked to give me a kiss on the cheek. As I walked back down the hall a verse come to mind.

Matthew 25:40 (NIV) “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Severing God can be as simple as serving others.

Oh yeah, I did have a banana split myself and the person I was helping with bingo today did win the overall game.

Leave a Reply

