My Covenant

1 Chronicles 22:19 (NIV) “Now devote your heart and soul to seeking the Lord your God. Begin to build the sanctuary of the Lord God, so that you may bring the ark of the covenant of the Lord and the sacred articles belonging to God into the temple that will be built for the Name of the Lord.”

Today I found myself meditating on this scripture. Asking myself what does it mean to me and how do I apply it to my life. King David tells us to seek the Lord our God to devote our hearts to Him. I ask myself how do I seek the Lord? I thought about the shape of my heart.  I thought of the time I send with God in prayer praising him and asking for help and guidance. I thought about how I want to know more about God, so I study the bible. As I thought about this my thoughts went to the next part, “so that you may bring the ark of the covenant of the Lord” my mind keyed into the word “covenant.”  Covenant meaning promises God made with man. I thought of my baptism the day I made a covenant with the Lord to follow Jesus and brought that covenant into my heart and soul.  I asked myself am I keeping that covenant. Am I trying to follow the Lord to the best of my ability? What do I need to work on? I reminded myself that God not done with me yet and He’ll never be done with me until the day I die or the Day of the Lord comes.  The rest of the scripture came to me about then, “and (bring) the sacred articles belonging to God into the temple that will be built for the Name of the Lord.” I thought what this means to me. God is building me to serve Him in His kingdom.  He is placing sacred articles (teachings and etc…) into my temple (heart, body, mind, and soul) for Jesus.

This is my covenant with the Lord: I will love God. I will devote my heart and soul to Him. I will do my best to walk in Jesus footstep. I will obey Him; I will do my best to surrender myself to Him and His teachings because I love God. I am His child. He will love me, he will guide me, and he will care for me including disciplining me like any good parent does for their child. He will give me eternal life.A_Broken_Covenant

Two other parts of scriptures that pop out to me on this page of my bible are:

…… Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or discouraged. (22:13)

Is not the Lord your God with you? And has he not granted you rest on every side? (22:18)

Love and Peace

 

Leave a Reply

