Trash

Last night as I finish reading my bible I sit and meditated on what I just studied.  For some reason, in the middle of a thought, a swear word slip into my mind. I began to question myself where it came from. I began to pray asking God to help me to clean my mind and body of unholy things. I asked for protection from evil. I could feel the power of the Holy Spirit in me helping me.

After my prayer, my mind drifted into things I had done early in the day like placing small trash cans by the church’s doors with a sign above them saying, “Please place your trash here after service.Thank you.” I was thinking how we should keep God’s house/temple clean. For some reason, my mind saw the humor in it because without intending to I realize that the sign could have a double meaning….

We attend church to listen to sermons to help us clean our temples (minds & bodies) of unholy things that keeps us from being close to God.  So maybe before we leave the church we should get rid of the garbage in our hearts.

“Please place your trash here after service.”

 

1381481-Cartoon-Brunette-White-Woman-Carrying-A-Trash-Can-Poster-Art-Print
Taking out the garbage.

 

This verse came to mind.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20 “Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.”

All throughout this I could hear my pastor’s voice in my mind giving a sermon and how he could make it funny and still get his point across. I thought there are a lot of people who attend my church maybe I should have brought bigger trash cans. I could fill half of one.

Peace and love.

God has a sense of humor when it comes to loving and dealing with me.

 

Leave a Reply

