Plans / Serving

This morning on waking my mind draft to servitude to God. I thought about the difference between serving someone and being a slave to someone. God doesn’t want slaves. He wants us to be willing to serve Him. I thought about my love for God and His love for me. I thought my love for God could never match the amount of love He has for me. I thought about how that love is what compels me to serve God. I have great feelings of gratitude to God for the things he does for me. I pictured Joseph serving in Potiphar’s house. (Genesis 39) I thought about how at some point Joseph would have asked Potiphar if there was anything that he needed to do. I thought how I and other people serve God. Generally, I asked for guidance in my prayers for the things I do throughout the day, but this morning I asked God what I could do for Him today? Then I was silent for awhile. When no apparent answers came I went about starting my day’s list as I planned. Things like start the laundry, put the dishes in the dishwasher, straighten up the house, give my friend a ride to her daughter’s house, then studying at the church for a few hours, around 2:30 go home get ready for a birthday party and etc…

Things went smoothly until I pick-up my friend what I thought would only take a few minutes out of my day ended up taking half the day helping her and going somewhere besides her daughter’s house. While I was with her I learn more about her life. I got answers to questions that were bothering me. I witness to her. I told her about more of my life. God reaffirmed the direction I need to go. I did manage to get to the church only to remember there were some things that I needed to do before Sunday service. I did make it home before 2:30 but had to go right back the door to help another person with a ride. The party was at my house I make it into door 10 minutes before my family started arriving at 3:15. I didn’t get to spend hours studying today or doing things that I plan for but I did get to do things God planned for me to do to serve Him today and help me serve Him in the future.

One of my favorite lately.

Jeremiah 29:11 NIV For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Leave a Reply

