Snake and Crow–The Dream

I had another weird dream again last night. I don’t know why I call them weird dreams when I know that they are from God. Maybe it is because calling them weird makes them more acceptable to me and in my mind more acceptable to other people. Some people today don’t believe that God talks to us in our dream anymore.  Most of the prophets got dreams from God at one point in their lives. So, He definitely did in the Bible, especially in the Old Testament. Maybe leaving that little bit of doubt in my mind that God doesn’t talk to me in dreams allows me a little comfort of acceptability of being a normal person. When I know I’m not a normal person. I’m part of God’s Kingdom using gifts He bestowed on me. Okay, a gift that most people won’t admit to. So here is the dream God gave me last night.

There were an 8-inch brown snake and a black crow. Both seems friendly although I don’t like snakes. They creep me out. But both seem to communicate to me their intent. The crow sat on my shoulder or sometimes near me. The snake would come toward me with a friendly intent. I don’t know why I just didn’t run away in my dream. That is what I would do in real life. I would flee from danger. I do know my fear was the snake would bite me so I would capture it and try to keep it’s mouth squeezed shut. Each time the snake would manage to bite my hand and inject poison into me. The crow would then came and peck at the snake until it would let go. The snake would again try to be my friend and come toward me. Telling me it won’t bite me if I wouldn’t squeeze it’s mouth because that hurt it. I asked the crow why don’t you just kill the snake. The crow would imply that I capable of handling the snake myself, but when I couldn’t, it would help. This happens 3 times each time the snake always bit me and injected poison into me. On the third time, the crow had enough of the snake deceit. It killed and ate it.

On waking, I tried to analyze my dream. At first, I didn’t know what each animal represented…. Especially since black crows aren’t that pretty or likable birds… The snake was Satan and the crow was Jesus/God. Both watch me, both wanted to be my friend. The snake always causes harm no matter how friendly or innocent it seems at first. Isn’t sin just like that. It seems so harmless at first but manages to inject poison into our life somehow. I wonder why I didn’t die from the bites in my dream. But I realize the snake wouldn’t inject enough poison to kill me right off physically. Just enough to irritate me. I knew the bites would lead to death if I didn’t tend to them. Just as sin leads to a spiritual death if not tended to. Finally,  I know someday God is going to have enough of Satan and He is going to send Jesus to “eat” (or my favorite way of saying it — kick butt) Satan permanently.

Here is an interesting thought before bed I saw some pictures of the reproduction of Noah’s Ark. I thought about how most people don’t realize Noah sent out a crow before the dove after the rain stop. I wonder why Noah used a crow first and thought maybe it was because crows are stronger than doves. So, I look it up Genesis 8: 6-9 turn out it was a raven that he sent out not a crow so maybe the bird was a raven in my dream.

Genesis 8:6-9 After forty days Noah opened a window he had made in the ark 7 and sent out a raven, and it kept flying back and forth until the water had dried up from the earth. 8 Then he sent out a dove to see if the water had receded from the surface of the ground. 9 But the dove could find nowhere to perch because there was water over all the surface of the earth; so it returned to Noah in the ark. He reached out his hand and took the dove and brought it back to himself in the ark.

Leave a Reply

