Studying Minor Prophets (Joel)

I found this prayer I wrote several months ago when I was studying the minor prophets in the Bible.

Dear Heavenly Father,
Break my heart. Tear it from my body. Crush me. Let me rend my heart.Then my Father rebuild me. Sweep alway my sins. Purge my mind, body, and soul. Seal my lips with goodness. Fill me with Your love and forgiveness. Let scriptures fill my mind. Holiness fill my body. Mercy and compassion enter my soul. Wash me in the Blood.
Let me fall to my knees in repentances. In Jesus’ name Amen.

Rend: verb – tear (something) into two or more pieces

On the page before the prayer, I realize I was studying Joel and I had written part of a scripture. “Rend your heart and not your garments.” In the introduction of the chapter, it says this: Joel saw a sign for the final judgement and warned the people to turn to God in repentance. He announced that the “Day of the Lord” was coming and would bring even greater judgement.

“Day of the Lord” means judgement day and/or the 2nd coming of Jesus. The “Lord’s Day” means Sunday or the Sabbath. Something else I learnt while studying the minor prophets…. I also looked back at my notes and found I wrote this: I believe the Day of the Lord is a promise to Christians and a curse to everyone else.

Joel 2:13 Rend your heart and not your garments. Return to the Lord your God, for he is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love, and he relents from sending calamity.

Joel 1:15 Alas for that day! For the day of the Lord is near; it will come like destruction from the Almighty.

If you are wondering, God’s working on my prayer and will be for the rest of my life because I’m not perfect.

Leave a Reply

