Talking to God About Feelings

It’s funny how God teaches me things about myself through some of the stories in the Bible. For example, God was very angry with the Israelite many times in the Old Testament. His anger was a justice anger for their disobedience. I have a hard time letting myself be angry about some things. I want to control this feeling because I had no control over some situations. I know that I can’t change things so I would tell myself why be angry about it. I push it away. Bury it and try not to think about it. Some of it I’ve bury so deep I totally forgot about it until recently. So I never quite dealt with it. I never confronted these feelings until recently. I’ve been trying to let them out. Confront them and process them in my mind. So I can move past it and be the person God wants me to be. 

Some people would think it’s not okay to be really angry. But I’ve been told that it is and working through it will create a healthier person. I find myself talking with God about my anger. I think He talks to me about His anger. Things that happened and are happening that hurts Him.

One of the stories in the Bible that I enjoy reading is Hosea. The Lord tells Hosea to take an unfaithful wife to show Hosea how He (God) feels about the unfaithfulness of the Israelites. You can read about that yourself in Hosea. What I find is a beauty in this story when God shows forgiveness and tells what He is going to do.

“Therefore I am now going to allure her; I will lead her into the wilderness and speak tenderly to her. There I will give her back her vineyards, and will make the Valley of Achor (trouble) a door of hope. There she will sing (respond) as in the days of her youth, as in the day she came up out of Egypt. In that day,” declares the Lord, “you will call me ‘my husband’; you will no longer call me ‘my master.’”(2:14-16) “I will betroth you to me forever; I will betroth you in (with) righteousness and justice, In (with) love and compassion. I will betroth you in (with) faithfulness, and you will acknowledge the Lord. (2:19-20)

There is a lot more to the book of Hosea but my point is God used a real life story to show us His feelings. God dealt with how He felt about the Israelites. In a way He opens His “heart” creates beauty from it. Reading about this lets me see I’m not alone in my feelings. I know it’s okay to be angry. What is not okay is not dealing with my feelings.

Hosea 14:4 “I will heal their waywardness and love them freely, for my anger has turned away from them.”

With love and peace

Leave a Reply

