Adopted

Okay, I again say my favorite time of the day is when I put my son to bed. Tonight he asked me if I knew where his biggest ticklish spot is. I guess several different places until finally he says, “my heart.” He told me I tickle his heart when I play with him at bedtime. Then he picks up his stuff rabbits (JohnJohn, Big Rabbit, and BunBun) and pretends to talk with them like I do.  He said, “Do you know that you are adopted?” Talking to me with two of his rabbits. I looked at him puzzled. “Do you know what I mean? You are adopted by God.” This is how I know my son is listening to people talking about God and God is talking to him. Early I was thinking about myself and how I had to learn what it means to be a daughter to God and what a good Father he is to me.

Ephesians 1:4-6…For He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world to be holy and blameless in His presence. In love, He predestined us for adoption as His sons through Jesus Christ, according to the good pleasure of His will, to the praise of His glorious grace, which He has freely given us in the Beloved One.…

A Father who loves me. Who has shown His love through His son Jesus.  A God who cares about me. Who shows me trust, comfort, and disciplined. Who teaches me through other people and scripture. I couldn’t explain the kind of love that God showers on me. He lifts me up. He cherishes and honors me. I hold him close in my heart. The thing of it is my son knows I love God more than I love him and he understands. I believe my son is learning to love God like I do. That brings joy to my heart.

Psalm 78:1-8
1 My people, hear my teaching;
listen to the words of my mouth.
2 I will open my mouth with a parable;
I will utter hidden things, things from of old—
3 things we have heard and known,
things our ancestors have told us.
4 We will not hide them from their descendants;
we will tell the next generation
the praiseworthy deeds of the Lord,
his power, and the wonders he has done.
5 He decreed statutes for Jacob
and established the law in Israel,
which he commanded our ancestors
to teach their children,
6 so the next generation would know them,
even the children yet to be born,
and they in turn would tell their children.
7 Then they would put their trust in God
and would not forget his deeds
but would keep his commands.
8 They would not be like their ancestors—
a stubborn and rebellious generation,
whose hearts were not loyal to God,
whose spirits were not faithful to him.

Leave a Reply

