Class Work–1

Recently in an online class I took we were assigned to write  Bible dictionary enters about a person, place, and book in the Old and New Testament.  I chose Mary Magdalene as the person in the NT. One of the reasons I chose her is because I read the book Unveiling Mary Magdalene by Liz Curtis Higgs before my class started. Another reason was I have already looked at Mary Magdalene in the scriptures about a year ago. I could see more than what the Bible was saying about this woman. She was grateful and loyal to Jesus. She had a great love for him as her Savior. I believe it wasn’t a woman’s love for man. It was a love that’s beyond that; a love a woman has for God. It’s sad how Hollywood misinterprets that kind of love so does some humankind. My mind kept drifting to the passage about Mary crying for Jesus body and later clinging to resurrected Jesus. I wonder how it would feel to be in the physical presence of Jesus. I could feel the spiritual presence of God in my heart and mind. I could relate Mary’s love for Jesus as my own love for Jesus…. It was hard to focus on writing the paper, but I believe I got want I needed from it.

Mary Magdalene

Mary Magdalene is mentioned twelve times in the gospels, but there is no mentioned of her age, parentage, or her marital status. Magdalene identifies her place of birth. Mary Magdalene was a disciple of Jesus and an eyewitness to Jesus’ life, death, burial, and resurrection. Her story crosses over into all four gospels showing her support, loyalty, and love to her Savior. Her story begins in Luke 8:1-3 where it identifies her as a woman whom Jesus cast seven demons out of and one of the women who follows Jesus and the Twelve from one town and village to another helping to support them out of their own means. (Also see Mark 15:41 & 16:9, Matt. 27:55-56). Mary Magdalene and several other women are mentioned being at Jesus’ crucifixion (Matt. 27:56, Mark 15:40, John 19:25). She and Mary, the mother of Joseph, watched as they laid Jesus’ body in the garden tomb. (Matt. 27:61, Mark 15:47). Three days later Mary Magdalene and some of the other disciples return to the tomb to find it empty. The resurrected Jesus appeared to her first when she was weeping alone at his tomb (John 20:11-18). In John 20:18 says, Mary Magdalene went to the disciples with the news: “I have seen the Lord!” –. There is no other mention of Mary Magdalene in the Bible after this event. Counter to some beliefs Biblical canon does not support Mary Magdalene as the repentant prostitute, a loose woman, the unnamed sinner in Luke 7:36-50, or Jesus’ wife.

Leave a Reply

